January 2009 Changes to Colorado DUI Law
Beginning on January 1, 2009, a number of new changes are coming to Colorado DUI law. These changes will make DUI consequences, particularly DMV consequences, more severe. First-time DUI offenders are among the hardest hit by Colorado’s new DUI law. Among the upcoming changes to Colorado DUI law are the following:
- First-time DUI offenders will be subject to increased time without driving privileges. The period of DMV restraint will increase from 3 months to 9 months for an adult driver with a regular license;
- All first-time DUI offenders with blood alcohol or breath alcohol tests over the legal limit of .08 will be subject to the installation of an “interlock” device in their cars. The “interlock” device is installed in the car’s ignition and requires a driver to take and pass a breath test before starting the vehicle;
- The DMV will remove some incentives for to an accused driver to accept a lesser “DWAI” plea bargain when facing a greater “DUI” charge. With this change, many drivers should think twice about accepting the standard plea bargain offer extended to the majority of DUI defendants in the majority of Colorado jurisdictions.
Because of these changes in DUI law, the assistance of an experienced and knowledgeable DUI attorney is more important than ever. If you have been arrested for DUI, please contact Laszlo & Associates right away for an evaluation of your case.